---
title: "Delete content"
slug: "delete-content"
abstract: "How to delete content when it is no longer needed."
---
# Delete content

You can delete content when it is no longer needed.

> [!important]
> You cannot delete published content without [unpublishing](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch-one/en/users/content-hub-one/content-authoring/manage-content/unpublish-content-or-media.html "Unpublish content or media") it first. A primary content item cannot be deleted if it has associated [localizations](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch-one/en/users/content-hub-one/content-authoring/manage-content/localize-content.html "Localize content"). If the content item is referenced elsewhere, the reference will be removed from associated items. This action cannot be undone.

To delete content:

1. On the menu bar, click **Content**.
2. On the **Content** page, next to the content item you want to delete, click **More actions** ![More Actions icon](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/ch-one/en/users/content-hub-one/images/more-actions-chone.png) > **Delete**.
3. Click **Delete** to confirm the deletion.

> [!note]
> You can also delete a content item from the content item details page by clicking **More actions** ![More Actions icon](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/ch-one/en/users/content-hub-one/images/more-actions-chone.png) > **Delete**.