---
title: "Delete a media item"
slug: "delete-a-media-item"
abstract: "How to delete media when it is no longer needed."
---
# Delete a media item

You can delete media items when they are no longer needed. When you delete a media item, the associated media file is only deleted if there are no other media items associated with it.

> [!important]
> You cannot delete published media without [unpublishing](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch-one/en/users/content-hub-one/content-authoring/manage-media/unpublish-content-or-media.html "Unpublish content or media") it first. If the media item is referenced elsewhere, the reference will be removed from associated items. This action cannot be undone.

To delete a media item:

1. On the menu bar, click **Media**.
2. On the **Media** page, next to the media item you want to delete, click **More actions** ![More actions icon](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/ch-one/en/users/content-hub-one/images/more-actions-chone.png) > **Delete**.
3. Click **Delete** to confirm the deletion.