---
title: "Delete a content type"
slug: "delete-a-content-type"
abstract: "How to delete a content type."
---
# Delete a content type

You can delete a content type when it is no longer needed.

> [!important]
> You cannot delete a content type if items of that type exist. Unpublish and delete all such items before attempting to delete the type.

To delete a content type:

1. On the menu bar, click **Content model** > **Content types**.
2. On the **Content types** page, next to the content type you want to delete, click **More actions** ![More actions icon](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/ch-one/en/users/content-hub-one/images/more-actions-chone.png) > **Delete**.
3. Click **Delete** to confirm the deletion.

> [!note]
> You can also delete a content type from the content type details page by clicking **More actions** ![More Actions icon](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/ch-one/en/users/content-hub-one/images/more-actions-chone.png) > **Delete**.