---
title: "Add the trash operation"
slug: "add-the-trash-operation"
abstract: "How to add the trash operation."
---
# Add the trash operation

Moving an asset to the trash does not immediately delete it, unlike when you click **Delete** :mdiTrashCanOutline:. Instead, it remains available for a [configurable delay](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/configure-maintenance-settings.html "Configure maintenance settings") before being permanently deleted. During this period, you can restore the asset or immediately and permanently delete it.

> [!note]
> To configure Sitecore Content Hub, you must either be a superuser or have the necessary permissions granted to you through [user group policies](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/user-group-policies.html "User group policies").

Before you can move assets to the trash, you must add the **Move to trash** operation to the **Assets** page.

To add the trash operation:

1. On the menu bar, click **Manage** :mdiCogOutline:.
2. On the **Manage** page, click **Pages**.
3. On the **Pages** page, select the **Assets** page.
4. For the **Selection** component, click **Enable custom settings** :mdiAccountOutline:.
5. Click the **Selection** component to open it.
6. On the **Operations** tab, in the **M.asset** pane, click **Add operation**.
7. In the list, click *Move to trash*.
8. In the **Move to trash** dialog, fill out the following fields:

    | Field | Description | Mandatory |
    | --- | --- | --- |
    | **Icon** | Icon representing the operation. If you do not want to use the default icon for this operation, click it and choose an alternative. | Yes |
    | **Label** | Name of the operation. If you do not want to use the default label for this operation, replace it with some custom text. | Yes |
    | **Confirmation dialog** | Sets a confirmation screen. If you want users to confirm each time they move assets to the trash, turn on this switch. | No |

9. Click **Save**.
10. On the **Selection component** page, click **Save and close**.