---
title: "Check in assets"
slug: "check-in-assets"
abstract: "How to check back in an asset you checked out."
---
# Check in assets

After modifying the checked-out assets, you can check them back in or discard the changes. Checking in the assets brings the modifications into Sitecore Content Hub, adding a new file version to the asset. Discarding them cancels the modifications.

The lock is removed after you have checked in or discarded an asset, and you can edit it again in Content Hub. The asset is also removed from the Microsoft OneDrive folder.

To check in a checked-out asset:

1. On the menu bar, click your avatar > **Checkout** :mdiRepeat:.
2. On the **Checkouts** page, click **Checkin** to check in an asset.

> [!tip]
> On the asset details page, you can [compare](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/compare-to-master.html "Compare to master") the new version of the file with the previous one.