---
title: "Disable navigation for a relation"
slug: "disable-navigation-for-a-relation"
abstract: "How to disable navigation for a relation."
---
# Disable navigation for a relation

> [!note]
> To configure Content Hub, you must either be a superuser or have the necessary permissions granted to you through [user group policies](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/user-group-policies.html "User group policies").

If a relation has more than 20 entities, you can improve web server performance by disabling **Allow navigation** for that relation. Doing this means that the relation is no longer browsable using the API, and that it is read-only on the details page.

> [!important]
> You need to understand the impact on saving changes before changing the **Allow navigation** switch.
>
> -   If **Allow navigation** is turned off, changes to entity relations are saved immediately—before you click **Save**. This behavior cannot be undone from the **Edit member** dialog.
>
> -   If **Allow navigation** is turned on, changes to entity relations are saved only when you click **Save**, along with any other property changes.

To disable navigation for a relation:

1. On the menu bar, click **Manage** :mdiCogOutline:.
2. On the **Manage** page, click **Entities**.
3. On the **Entities** page, next to the entity you want to modify, click **Edit** :mdiPencilOutline:.
4. On the entity details page, next to the member that contains the desired relation, click **Actions** :mdiDotsHorizontal: > :mdiPencilOutline: **Edit**.
5. In the **Edit member** dialog, on the **Advanced** tab, turn off the **Allow navigation** switch.
6. Click **Save**.
7. Click **Apply changes**.