---
title: "Manage users in Content Hub"
slug: "manage-users-in-content-hub"
abstract: "Manage your users in Content Hub: create, edit, disable, delete, and temporarily lock out users."
---
# Manage users in Content Hub

As a Sitecore Content Hub superuser, you can change [user authentication](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/user-authentication.html "User authentication") settings and create, edit, disable, delete, or temporarily lock out users. Use the [Excel feature](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/manage-users-with-excel.html "Manage users with Excel") to perform these operations in bulk.

If your organization uses Stream and you need to add users in bulk to the Sitecore Cloud portal, add users to the [SC.Portal.User](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/standard-user-groups.html#scportaluser-group) user group. Doing so gives users basic Cloud Portal access but does not grant additional Content Hub permissions. Content Hub is not part of the Sitecore Cloud portal and [authentication](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/user-authentication.html) to Content Hub remains separate from the portal.

> [!note]
> Users who log in using Single Sign-On (SSO) have their email addresses automatically verified upon successful login and the **Email not verified** label is then removed.

## Create a user

Content Hub lets you create user accounts, granting them access to specific modules and features.

To create a user:

1. On the menu bar, click **Manage** :mdiCogOutline:.
2. On the **Manage** page, click **Users**.
3. On the **Users** page, on the **Users** tab, click :mdiPlus: **User**.
4. In the **User** dialog, in the **Username** field, enter a username, which is an alphanumeric string value that can contain spaces, periods, underscores, hyphens, and special characters.
5. Assign the required Sitecore Content Hub [**Modules**](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/assign-modules-to-users-and-groups.html "Assign modules to users and groups") to the user.
6. To create another user, select the **Create another** check box.
7. Click **Save**. If you selected the **Create another** check box, the **User** dialog displays where you can create another user. If you are not creating another item, the user details page opens. When you create another item, some of the fields are prefilled with values you already

> [!note]
> To use Content Hub, a user must have a verified email address. On the user details page, click **Edit profile** and follow [steps 4-6 below](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/manage-users-in-content-hub.html#UUID-6be7b034-f0ea-99e1-38c0-6651258c4846_step-edit-profile "Step 4"). Applicable [authentication settings](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/configure-the-authentication-setting.html "Configure the Authentication setting"), such as `EnableEmailWhiteList` and `WhiteListedEmailPatterns`, must be configured.

## Edit a user

You can edit the profile of an existing user account, which lets you change their email address or time zone, or assign a specific [theme](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/themes.html "Themes").

To edit a user:

1. On the menu bar, click **Manage** :mdiCogOutline:.
2. On the **Manage** page, click **Users**.
3. On the **Users** tab, next to the user you want, click **View details** :mdiInformationOutline:.
4. On the user detail page, click **Edit profile**.
5. In the **Edit profile** dialog, modify the following fields.

    | Field | Description |
    | --- | --- |
    | **Email** | Email address of the user. |
    | **TimeZone** | Timezone of the user location expressed in coordinated universal time (UTC). |
    | **Theme** | Default [theme](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/themes.html) of the user application. |

6. Click **Save**.
7. [Reset the user password](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/reset-a-user-password.html "Reset a user password").

## Disable a user

When you disable a user, they can only log in to an account restricted page.

> [!tip]
> If you want to disable a user for a specific period of time, you can [lock them out temporarily](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/manage-users-in-content-hub.html#UUID-6be7b034-f0ea-99e1-38c0-6651258c4846_section-idm23444668242194 "Lock out a user temporarily").

To disable a user:

1. On the menu bar, click **Manage** :mdiCogOutline:.
2. On the **Manage** page, click **Users**.
3. On the **Users** tab, next to the user you want, click **View details** :mdiInformationOutline:.
4. On the user detail page, click **Edit** :mdiPencilOutline:.
5. Turn on the **Disable user** switch.
6. Optionally, in the **Restriction reason** field, enter a comment.
7. Click **Save**.

> [!note]
> If you want to re-enable a user, repeat this process and turn off the **Disable user** switch.

## Delete a user

If you delete a user, they're permanently removed from Content Hub.

> [!warning]
> When you delete a user, all of the associated data is also deleted and cannot be retrieved later. Deletions are recorded in the [auditing logs](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/raw-audit-log.html "Raw audit log").

To delete a user:

1. On the menu bar, click **Manage** :mdiCogOutline:.
2. On the **Manage** page, click **Users**.
3. On the **Users** page, next to the user you want, click **Delete** :mdiTrashCanOutline:.

## Lock out a user temporarily

You can prevent a user from logging into Content Hub by locking them out until a specific date and time.

> [!note]
> **Before you begin**
> -   Set the `EnableLockout` property in the [Authentication setting](https://doc.sitecore.com/ch/en/users/content-hub/configure-the-authentication-setting.html#UUID-44dafba7-e95d-19e4-69f8-0168ea06b16d_td-idm273423123978466) to *true*.

To lock out a user:

1. On the menu bar, click **Manage** :mdiCogOutline:.
2. On the **Manage** page, click **Users**.
3. On the **Users** tab, next to the user you want, click **View details** :mdiInformationOutline:.
4. On the user detail page, click **Edit** :mdiPencil:.
5. Next to **Lockout end date**, click the calendar and select a date and a time.
6. Click **Save**.

> [!note]
> If you want to remove the lock, repeat this process and delete the current **Lockout end date**.