Module assignment

Note

To configure Content Hub, you must either be a superuser or have the necessary permissions granted to you through user group policies.

Licensing of Sitecore Content Hub modules is managed by Sitecore, but you can manage the module assignment of your users.

Users with no assigned modules can access entities, but to see specific content – such as entity definitions or portal pages – they must be assigned the corresponding user group policies.

View module assignment

To view module assignment:

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage .

  2. On the Manage page, click Users.

  3. On the Users page, do one of the following:

    • Click the Users tab and, next to the user you want, click View details . The modules assigned to the user are listed on the Details tab next to the Modules field.

    • Click the User groups tab and, next to the user group you want, click View details . The modules assigned to the user group are listed next to the Modules field.

Assign modules to a user

Note

The portal pages available to a user depend on the modules they are assigned. If the user only has one module assigned, the navigation menu is simplified.

To assign modules to a user:

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage .

  2. On the Manage page, click Users.

  3. On the Users page, click the Users tab.

  4. Next to the user you want, click View details .

  5. On the Details tab, click Edit .

  6. Next to the Modules field, click Add .

  7. In the Modules dialog box, select the checkboxes next to the modules you want to add and click OK.

  8. To remove modules, click Remove .

  9. Click Save.

Assign modules to a user group

Module assignment in a user group works as follows:

  • Modules assigned to a user group are automatically assigned to new users added to this group but not to users already in this group.

  • Removing users from a user group does not remove the default modules assigned to them when they were added to the group.

  • Removing a module assigned by default to users when they were added to a group does not remove them from the user group.

To assign modules to a user group:

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage .

  2. On the Manage page, click Users.

  3. On the Users page, click the User groups tab.

  4. Next to the user group you want, click View details .

  5. In the user group detail page, click Edit .

  6. Next to the Modules field, click Add .

  7. In the Modules dialog box, select the checkboxes next to the modules you want to add and click OK.

  8. To remove a module, click Remove .

  9. Click Save.

Assign modules using mass edit

Mass-editing involves making changes to more than one user at a time with a spreadsheet-style interface.

To assign modules using mass edit:

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage .

  2. On the Manage page, click Users.

  3. On the Users page, select the users you want and click Edit in table .

  4. On the Mass edit users page, double-click the Modules cell to edit it.

  5. In the Modules dialog, select the modules you want to add and clear the modules you want to remove.

  6. Click Select.

  7. Click Save and close.

Tip

On the Mass edit users page, you can copy the contents of the Modules cell to other cells by dragging the cursor across the cells to select them and then using copy and paste.

Do you have some feedback for us?

If you have suggestions for improving this article,