Set up security for a tenant and a site

Abstract

Use the predefined SXA roles to manage user's access to items and content.

You can use the predefined SXA roles to manage user's access to items and content. Before you can assign these roles to users, you must set up security for the tenant and site.

Note

You can only set up security for sites after you set up the security for the tenant.

To set up security for a tenant:

  1. Right-click the tenant, click Scripts and then click SetupSecurity.

  2. In the Security domain dialog box either:

    • Click the Sitecore domain, and click Proceed.

    • Click Create new domain, click Proceed and enter a domain name, and click Create.

    Note

    If you select a different domain than Sitecore, you must set the read/write permissions on the Languages node for one of the base roles or for the sitecore\Everyone user of your domain.

  3. In the Tenant security roles dialog box:

    • To add the default SXA roles, click Assign.

    • To select a different role, click 43C91866CF644ABAA4D467B3534849CA.png and then click Assign.

    Tenant security roles dialog box.

    Note

    To clear the domain, or undo the security settings, click the Tenant and in the Security section clear the Role domain field.

Before you can set up the security for a site, you must set up security for its tenant.

To set up security for a site:

  1. Right-click the site, click Scripts and then click SetupSecurity.

  2. In the Security domain dialog box either:

    • Click the Sitecore domain, and click Proceed.

    • Click Createnewdomain, then click Proceed and enter a domain name, and click Create.

    Note

    By default, the domain you selected for the tenant is preselected.

  3. In the Site security roles dialog box:

    • To add the default roles, click Assign.

    • To select a different role, click B445E006AE034FE2A32442F516DA669E.png and then click Assign.

    Site security roles dialog box.

After you have configured security for your tenant and site, you can create new users and assign them to the Admin, Author, Designer role in the User Manager.

Note

To clear the domain, or undo the security settings, click the Site and in the Security section clear the Role domain field.