---
title: "Resolve conflicts due to multiple users"
slug: "resolve-conflicts-due-to-multiple-users"
abstract: "How to resolve conflicts when multiple users create drafts of the same source and then try to publish it. Includes tips on how to avoid conflicts."
---
# Resolve conflicts due to multiple users

When multiple users edit the same source, if one user publishes their [draft](https://doc.sitecore.com/search/en/users/search-user-guide/index-items/manage-sources/source-status-and-metadata.html "Source status and metadata"), the next user attempting to publish will encounter an error due to a conflict. The error is usually something like *Connector Content has been changed in version: x.*

> [!tip]
> To avoid conflicts when publishing a source, we recommend
>
> -   Staying in sync with the rest of your team when modifying sources.
>
> -   Optionally, if you've made complex changes like adding JavaScript code, save the code on your local system. Then, if you lose your changes because of conflicts, you can refer to your local copy.

Conflicts arise because internally, Search differentiates between the published version of a source and the draft version of a source. If published source has version *X*, a draft source cannot also be in version *X*.

Consider this scenario: a source is *published* and in version *3*. Users *A* and *B* edit this source at the same time. Now, for both *A* and *B*, the source is in the *draft* state and in version *4*  (an increment of 1 from version 3). *A* publishes the source. The following things happen:

- The source is published and in version *4*.
- For *B*, the source is still in the draft version *4*. This causes a conflict because there is a published source in version *4* and a draft source in version *4*.
- To handle this conflict, *B* reverts the source to the latest published version. Now, *B* has the published version *4*.
- Optionally, if *B* edits the source, the source moves to draft state and is incremented to version *5*. If *B* publishes their changes, the source moves to the published state and is in version *5*.

If you publish a source and get an error message saying that there's a conflict.

To resolve conflicts due to multiple users:

1. Click **close** ![close_x.png](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/search/en/users/search-user-guide/images/close_x.png) in the error message.
2. [Revert](https://doc.sitecore.com/search/en/users/search-user-guide/index-items/manage-sources.html#UUID-d13eb8a2-9c38-059b-093f-3c855ac40285_section-idm4555180331857633505390565047 "Revert a source") ![Revert_to_published_icon.png](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/search/en/users/search-user-guide/images/Revert_to_published_icon.png) the source to the last published version. Now, you have the changes the other user published.
3. [Edit](https://doc.sitecore.com/search/en/users/search-user-guide/index-items/manage-sources.html#UUID-d13eb8a2-9c38-059b-093f-3c855ac40285_section-idm4589942284974433676776295068 "Edit a source") ![pencil_grey.png](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/search/en/users/search-user-guide/images/pencil_grey.png) the source to re-do the changes you want to make.
4. [Publish](https://doc.sitecore.com/search/en/users/search-user-guide/index-items/manage-sources.html#UUID-d13eb8a2-9c38-059b-093f-3c855ac40285_section-idm4549735374148833676776791153 "Publish a source") the source.