Archive or delete a recipient

Abstract

Learn how to delete or how to archive recipients from a list.

In Sitecore Send, you can delete a contact and all associated interactions and identifiers. You use this functionality to remove data that is no longer valuable to your business - for example, you might want to delete contacts that do not have any interactions from the past two years. To archive or delete a recipient, you can use the default bulk actions available on the dashboard:

  • Archive list members - you remove the contact from your marketing audience but you do not lose any data. The past activity of an archived recipient is still available for review. An archived recipient of a mailing list does not count towards its active subscribers or its billing.

  • Delete list members - you permanently remove all of the recipient's personal information and all of their previous history is lost and is no longer available for review.

To archive or delete a contact:

  1. On your dashboard, click Audience, Email lists.

  2. Click the email list.

  3. On the menu on the left, click Perform bulk actions and click either Archive list members or Delete list members.

  4. Click one of the following tiles and then click Select:

    • CSV /TXT File

    • Excel File

    • Paste Text

    • Google Contacts Plugin

    • Salesforce plugin

  5. Follow the procedure of the option you selected.

  6. On the Data mapping tab, to map the column that contains the email addresses from the data you uploaded to your list's email field, click the appropriate drop-down list and select Email. Notice that all other drop-down lists automatically change to Ignore.

  7. In the Select remove operation type field, click either to remove the list members or unsubscribe them from your list.

  8. To remove the specific recipients from all your mailing lists, select the Apply to all mailing lists check box.

  9. On the Notification tab, select if and how you want to be notified when the import process has been completed and click Import.

  10. To start the process, click Remove.