---
title: "Use history mode in the campaign editor"
slug: "use-history-mode-in-the-campaign-editor"
abstract: "Describes the campaign editor history mode."
---
# Use history mode in the campaign editor

In the campaign editor, you can use history mode to access and restore saved versions of your newsletter design. Drafts are automatically saved every 30 seconds if the design has changed. You can still save your designs manually when you want to.

## Save a draft

To manually save a draft after you have made changes in the editor:

1. On the top menu of the editor, hover your mouse over **Update Campaign & Continue**.
2. Select **Save as draft**. Your saved draft is added to the **Draft history** list. 

    To retrieve your draft, see **Restore a draft**.

## Restore a draft

To resume work on a previously saved draft:

> [!note]
> Before you restore a draft, save your current design, if you want to keep it.

1. On the top menu of the editor, click **History**. The editor switches to history mode.
2. In the left pane, navigate to the draft you want to load, then click ![Open_arrow_icon.png](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/send/en/users/sitecore-send/images/Open_arrow_icon.png). The drafts are sorted from newest to oldest, showing the date and time of creation.
3. In the dialog that appears, click **OK** to restore the draft.
4. To return to editing your restored design, on the top menu, click **Edit**. The editor switches back to edit mode.