Manage the suppression list

Abstract

Learn how to add a recipient to the suppression list.

To keep your bounce rate and spam complaint rate as low as possible, you can ensure that you do not send email messages to contacts that, for example, have unsubscribed from your newsletter.

If an email message bounces or if the email message is marked as spam, the email address is automatically added to the suppression list and will not receive another email message again.

Important

Once the recipient is added to the suppression list, it becomes impossible to add them to any of your email lists in the future, and they are removed from your active subscriber count.

To add a recipient to the suppression list:

  1. At the top of your Dashboard page, click the Audience tab, and click Email lists.

  2. Click the Email list of which you want to add recipient(s) to the suppression list.

  3. Click View members and select the checkbox of the recipient(s) that you want to add to the suppression list.

  4. On the Select Action menu that appears above your recipient's Email, click Add to suppression list.

    Alternatively, click the three dots, and click Add to suppression list.

    The recipient is now moved to the suppression list.

To view the suppression list:

  • At the top right corner of the Dashboard page, go to your account, click Settings, and click Suppression List.

You can choose to keep recipients on the suppression list for historical reasons, but sometimes you may want to permanently delete these members.

To delete members of the suppression list:

  1. At the top right corner of the Dashboard page, go to your account, click Settings, and click Suppression List.

  2. Select the checkbox of the member that you want to delete from the list, and on the Select Action menu, click Delete.

  3. Click Delete to confirm.

You can export the recipients on the suppression list to a CSV or Excel file.

To export recipients on a suppression list:

  1. At the top right corner of the Dashboard page, go to your account, click Settings, and click Suppression List.

  2. On the right top corner of your Suppression List page, click the three dots and click the Export to CSV or Export to Excel. A message will appear notifying you that your export is in progress and that, when finished, it will be sent to the owner of the account.