---
title: "Edit the layout of an item"
slug: "edit-the-layout-of-an-item"
abstract: "Create, use, and reset versioned layouts."
---
# Edit the layout of an item

Versioned layouts enables you to:

- Specify the layout of an item
- Reset the layout of an item

<details>
<summary><h2>Specify the layout of an item</h2></summary>

In the **Content Editor,** you can specify shared and versioned layouts of an item:

1. On the **Presentation** tab, click **Details**.
2. In the **Layout Details** dialog, on the **Shared Layout** tab, edit the layout details that apply to all the versions of the item.

    ![The Presentation tab on the ribbon](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/xp/en/developers/105/sitecore-experience-manager/images/D946B40D92414EB48D82B10C412D9887.png)

3. Click **OK** to save and close the dialog.
4. In the Content Editor, select a language and version of the item.

    ![Select language and version](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/xp/en/developers/105/sitecore-experience-manager/images/6BB3285EBCD04CAC950D614BFE55B8E7.png)

5. Open the **Layout Details** again and on the **Final Layout** tab, edit the layout details for the language version of the item.

    ![Layout Details](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/xp/en/developers/105/sitecore-experience-manager/images/F1CB821DC2104E5D918FAC50722F61CA.png)

    Sitecore only uses the layout you specify on this tab for the selected version and language.

</details>

<details>
<summary><h2>Reset the layout of an item</h2></summary>

You can reset the layout of an item. When you reset a versioned layout, the final layout becomes the same as the shared layout of the item.

You can reset versioned layouts in these ways:

- Reset only the versioned layout for the current version of the item.
- Reset the versioned layout for all versions in the currently selected language of the item.
- Reset the versioned layout for all versions in all languages.

You can reset a shared layout to the one defined in the standard values item of the data template that the item is based on.

To reset the layout of an item, in the **Content Editor**:

1. On the **Presentation** tab, click **Reset**.

    ![Reset layout of an item](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/xp/en/developers/105/sitecore-experience-manager/images/6AC07119E1A14C35A5DD9E91540C832B.png)

2. In the **Reset Layout** dialog, select either **Reset the versioned presentation details** or **Reset the shared presentation details**, or both, and click OK.

</details>