---
title: "Revert an item, a tree of items, or a database"
slug: "revert-an-item-a-tree-of-items-or-a-database"
abstract: "Undo changes to items or a whole database."
---
# Revert an item, a tree of items, or a database

You can roll back changes and revert items. When you revert items, Sitecore loads the items from the file system and overwrites any changes. Use this procedure to bring the database back to the exact same state as it is in the file system.

<details>
<summary><h2>Reverting rules</h2></summary>

When an item or item version is part of a serialized tree:

- If the item or the item version exists in the database but not in the file system, XM Cloud deletes it from the database.
- If the item or the item version exists in the file system but not in the database, XM Cloud adds it to the database.
- If the item or the item version differs from the corresponding one in the file system, XM Cloud overwrites it.

</details>

<details>
<summary><h2>Revert items</h2></summary>

You can revert a single item, a tree of items (an item and all its subitems), or a whole database.

To revert an item:

1. In the **Content Editor**, select the item that you want to revert.
2. On the **Developer** tab, in the **Serialize** group, click **Revert** Item.

    > [!note]
    > If the item is not serialized, nothing is reverted.

To revert an item and all its subitems:

1. In the **Content Editor**, select the parent item you want to revert with all its subitems.
2. On the **Developer** tab, in the **Serialize** group, click **Revert Tree**.

    > [!note]
    > If the root item of the selected item tree, or any of the descendants, is configured to be included in a serialization tree, then the selected subtree is reverted. Otherwise, nothing is reverted.

To revert the whole database:

1. In the **Content Editor**, select any item.
2. On the **Developer** tab, in the **Serialize** group, click **Revert Database**.

</details>