---
title: "Restore or remove a deleted item"
slug: "restore-or-remove-a-deleted-item"
abstract: "In the Sitecore Recycle Bin you can restore deleted items or remove them from Sitecore completely."
---
# Restore or remove a deleted item

When you delete an item, the item is moved to the Sitecore Recycle Bin from where you can:

- Restore an item or a version of the item.
- Permanently delete individual items.
- Empty the entire bin and permanently delete all items.

To restore or remove an item from the Sitecore Recycle Bin:

1. Open the [Launchpad](https://doc.sitecore.com/xp/en/users/101/sitecore-experience-platform/overview-of-the-sitecore-launchpad.html "Overview of the Sitecore Launchpad") and click **Recycle Bin**.

    Alternatively, you can open the Recycle Bin from the Sitecore Start menu.

2. In the **Recycle Bin** dialog box:
    - To restore a single item, select the item in the list and click **Restore**.

        ![The Recycle Bin dialog box](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/xp/en/users/101/sitecore-experience-platform/images/05D2222B8FA24EFBA130E3517C0DBA9D.png)

    - To restore a version of the item, in the **Options** group, select the **Show Versions** check box to display all the deleted versions of the selected item. Then from the list of versions, select the version that you want to restore and click **Restore**.

        ![The Recycle Bin dialog box with all versions listed](https://doc.sitecore.com/api/markdown-image/xp/en/users/101/sitecore-experience-platform/images/B0C0F6C9806246758FDD50B676341D38.png)

    > [!note]
    > When you restore an item or a version of an item, it is restored to its original place in the content tree. If another item contains a link to the restored item, the link is restored also.

    - To permanently delete an individual item, select the item that you want to delete and in the **Operations** group, click **Delete**.
    - To empty and permanently delete the entire recycle bin, in the **Operations** group, click **Empty**.
3. Click **OK**.