Sitecore Experience Platform

Edit the layout of an item

Abstract

Specify, edit, and reset the layout of an item version.

In Sitecore, you can specify shared presentation details for all versions of an item, in all languages, and you can specify different presentation details for each individual version of an item and for each language.

In this way, you can present a different composition of the layout depending on the version and language of the item. For example, in a multi-language solution, where you have different marketing strategies or promotional offers that are relevant only for a specific language, you are not restricted to display the same components for all languages.

For each item, you can specify the presentation details for:

  • The shared layout – stores the presentation details that are shared by all the versions of the item in every language. These presentation details are based on the standard values of the template that the item is based on.

  • The final layout – stores the combination of the presentation details on the selected version of the item and the presentation details of the shared layout. This is the layout that your visitors see on your website.

You can edit the shared layout or the final layout of an item.

To edit the shared or final layout of an item version:

  1. In the Content Editor or the Experience Editor, navigate to the item or page that you want to edit the layout for.

    Note

    To edit the final layout for the item or page, you must select the relevant version of the item.

  2. On the ribbon, on the Presentation tab, in the Layout group, click Details.

    4CF3D114375E467CBD5A6B6AA1BCA79F.png
  3. In the Layout Details dialog box:

    • Click the Shared Layout tab to edit the presentation details that apply to all the versions of the item. The presentation details that you add to the Shared Layout tab are also displayed on the Final Layout tab for all the versions of the item.

    • Click the Final Layout tab to edit the presentation details for the current version of the item. The presentation details that you add to the Final Layout tab only apply to the currently selected version and language version of the item.

      76E2F3E603744CEF9ABD1E548675C24B.png

      Note

      In the Experience Editor, if you cannot see the Final Layout tab, on the ribbon, on the Versions tab, clear the Edit all versions check box.

  4. Under the relevant device, for example Default or Print, click Edit. In the Device Editor dialog, specify the layout and add the relevant controls and placeholder settings.

    70FA4255D34A4A1189558F4040927CEA.png
  5. When you have finished specifying the layout, click OK.

You can reset the layout of an item to the standard values that are specified on the template that the item is based on. You can reset either the shared layout details, the final layout details, or both.

To reset the layout of an item:

  1. In the Content Editor or the Experience Editor, navigate to the item or page that you want to reset the layout for:

  2. On the ribbon, on the Presentation tab, in the Layout group, click Reset:

    • If you are editing the final layout, in the Reset Layout dialog box, select the relevant options and click OK.

      E1C12392D9764B4FB96811E1610D5A45.png
    • If you are editing the shared layout (on the Versions tab, the check box Edit all versions is selected), the following notification appears instead. To reset the shared layout, click OK.

      CDFB4E0EC5904E4494859AF144357A4E.png
  3. Save your changes.