Serialize an item or a tree of items

Current version: 10.0

When you serialize an item or a tree of items, Sitecore stores the item hierarchy in text files. This topic outlines:

Serialize items

You can serialize a single item or a series of items. The first time you serialize a single item, the whole tree to which the item belongs is serialized.

To serialize an item:

  1. In the Content Editor, select an item.

  2. On the Developer tab, in the Serialize group, click Serialize Item.

    Note

    If the item is not configured to be included in a serialization tree, nothing will be stored and you will get an error message.

To serialize an item with all its subitems:

  1. In the Content Editor, select a parent item.

  2. On the Developer tab, in the Serialize group, click Serialize Tree.

    Note

    If the root item of the selected item tree, or any of the descendants, is configured to be included in a serialization tree, then the selected subtree is serialized to files. If not, you will see a dialog with this information. You can choose to serialize all configured trees in the current database from this dialog.

Serialize security entities

You can serialize security entities. You can configure predicates to filter which users and roles are serialized. The following table describes the serialization commands and the applications where you perform them:

Sitecore application

Command

Description

Storage folder

User Manager

Serialize User

Serializes the selected user.

In the serialization folder:

/security/domain name/users/user name/*.yml

Serialize All Users

Serializes all the users.

Revert User

Reverts the selected user.

Revert All Users

Reverts all the users.

All the users who are in the database but are not in the file system will be removed.

Role Manager

Serialize Role

Serializes the selected role.

In the serialization folder:

/security/domain name/roles/role name/*.yml

Serialize All Roles

Serializes all the roles.

Revert Role

Reverts the selected role.

Revert All Roles

Reverts all the roles.

All the roles that are in the database but are not in the file system will be removed.

Domain Manager

Serialize Domain Users

Serializes all the users in the selected domain.

See above.

Serialize Domain Roles

Serializes all the roles in the selected domain.

Serialize Domain Users and Roles

Serializes all the users and roles in the selected domain.

Revert Domain Users

Reverts all the users in the selected domain.

All users from the selected domain which are not in the file system will be removed.

Revert Domain Roles

Reverts all the users and roles from the selected domain.

All roles from the selected domain which are not in the file system will be removed.

Revert Domain Users and Roles

Reverts all the users and roles from the selected domain.

All users and roles from the selected domain which are not in the file system will be removed.

Do you have some feedback for us?

If you have suggestions for improving this article,