Walkthrough: Verifying your existing recipients for GDPR
To verify existing subscribers for GDPR, you first set up new subscribers to go through a double opt-in process. Then, you create a segment for existing subscribers who have not been verified through the double opt-in process, and ask for their consent.
This walkthrough describes how to:
- Set up your email list for soft double opt-in
- Create a segment for unverified recipients
Set up your email list for soft double opt-in
To set up soft double opt-in for your email list:
- On the menu bar, click Audience > Email lists.
- Click the email list that you want to set up.
- On the menu on the left, click Set your settings.
- Navigate to the Opt in settings and click Soft double opt-in.
- Fill out the following fields:
- "From" name - select the email address that you want to display as the sender.
- Subject line - enter the email message title, for example, Confirm your subscription to
. - Message - check the default confirmation message. You can edit the HTML message as needed. Make sure that you include the
#VerificationLink#tag.
- Click Save.
- Navigate to the Landing page URL field, enter the URL of your confirmation page and click Save.
Create a segment for unverified recipients
To create a segment for unverified recipients:
- On the menu on the left, click Segments.
- Click Create New.
- Click Create custom segment.
- In the Segment name field, enter a name.
- In the Fetch field, select the following options:
- In the first drop-down list, to select all the matching recipients, click All.
- In the second drop-down list, to fetch contacts that match all the criteria, click All.
- In the Rules field, select the following options:
- In the first drop-down list, click Verified for Double Opt-In.
- In the second drop-down list, click Is false.
- Click Save segment.
When you have segmented your email list, you can contact the non-verified subscribers by including them in a campaign, and asking them to re-subscribe to your email list. Everyone who re-subscribes receives the confirmation e-mail you created, confirming their consent. Because the segment is dynamic, every subscriber who gets verified is automatically removed from the segment.