Resubscribe a bounced email address
An email address might be marked as a hard bounce for reasons like a simple spelling error during submission or a full mailbox. If you notice a mistake and need to correct it, or if you’re sure the bounced email address is valid, you can easily resubscribe it to your list.
To resubscribe a hard bounced email address, you first need to delete them from your Mailing lists and Suppression List.
To delete a bounced recipient:
- On the menu bar, click Audience > Email lists.
- Click the name of the email list from which you want to delete contacts.
- On the menu on the left, go to View all members.
- Select the Bounced tab and locate your recipient.
- Click
and click Delete. - Repeat this for all lists the recipient is a member of.
- On the menu bar, click More > Suppression List.
- On the menu on the left, click View all subscribers to view the email addresses that belong to your suppression list.
- Select the check box of the recipient(s) that you want to you want to delete from the suppression list.
- Click the Select action drop-down menu that appears above the list of recipients and select Delete.
- In the Confirm Action dialog, click Delete to confirm.
To resubscribe a recipient back to Active status:
- On the menu bar, click Audience > Email lists.
- To add new recipients to your new list, click Add a member.
- Fill out the default fields for the new member and click Save member:
- Email (Required) - enter the new member's email address. For example,
[[email protected]](mailto:[email protected]). - Name (Optional) - enter the name of the member. You cannot use special characters such as
<,>,",',%,&,+, and?. - Mobile (Optional) - enter the mobile number of the member including the country code in any of these formats: +(Country code)(Mobile number) or 00(Country code)(Mobile number). For example,
+306971234567or00306971234567. - Preferences (Optional) - enter the preferences of the member. To be able to do that you have to first add the options to the preferences field.
- Email (Required) - enter the new member's email address. For example,
Tip
When a member is removed from a mailing list, all data linked to that recipient will be permanently deleted and will not be recoverable. If the recipient’s email is added back later, it will be treated as a brand-new member, with no ties to the previous data.
If you have suggestions for improving this article, let us know!