Set up a reminder email message

Abstract

In Sitecore, you can schedule to send a reminder to one or more users by email.

In Sitecore, you can schedule to send a reminder to one or more users by email. This feature is particularly useful if you have time-sensitive content on your website. For example, if your website contains a special offer that runs out on a certain date, you can use the reminder to send yourself or others a reminder to remove the offer from the website on the appropriate day.

Note

To send emails to Sitecore users, for example, with reminders or content test results, an administrator must configure the email address to send emails from. In the \App_Config\Sitecore\Marketing.xDB\Sitecore.Analytics.config file, in the EmailReminder.EMailFromAddress setting, enter the email address that you want to use to send reminder email messages to Sitecore users.

To set a reminder:

  1. In the Content Editor, on the Review tab, in the Schedule group, click Reminder. In the list of options, click Set reminder.

    The Reminder menu on the Review ribbon.
  2. In the Set Email Reminder wizard, in the Reminder text field, enter the text that you want to send to recipients as a reminder, and then click Next.

    The Set Email Reminder wizard.
  3. In the Date and time field, enter the date and time when you want to send the email reminder. In the Recipients field, enter the email addresses of the recipients, and then click Set.

    The second page of the Set Email Reminder wizard.
  4. Click Finish.

  5. To verify the sending date of the reminder, on the Review tab, in the Schedule group, click Reminder. The reminder details are displayed above the Set reminder option.

    The scheduled reminder displayed in the Reminder menu.
  6. To clear the reminder that you have configured, on the Review tab, in the Schedule group, click Reminder, and then click Clear reminder.

Note

You can only configure one reminder for each item. If you already have one reminder set for an item, and you set another reminder, you overwrite the earlier reminder.