Restore or remove a deleted item

Abstract

In the Sitecore Recycle Bin you can restore deleted items or remove them from Sitecore completely.

When you delete an item, the item is moved to the Sitecore Recycle Bin from where you can:

  • Restore an item or a version of the item.

  • Permanently delete individual items.

  • Empty the entire bin and permanently delete all items.

To restore or remove an item from the Sitecore Recycle Bin:

  1. Open the Sitecore Launchpad and click Recycle Bin.

    Alternatively, you can open the Recycle Bin from the Sitecore Start menu.

  2. In the Recycle Bin dialog box:

    • To restore a single item, select the item in the list and click Restore.

      The Recycle Bin dialog box
    • To restore a version of the item, in the Options group, select the Show Versions check box to display all the deleted versions of the selected item. Then from the list of versions, select the version that you want to restore and click Restore.

      The Recycle Bin dialog box with all versions listed

    Note

    When you restore an item or a version of an item, it is restored to its original place in the content tree. If another item contains a link to the restored item, the link is restored also.

    • To permanently delete an individual item, select the item that you want to delete and in the Operations group, click Delete.

    • To empty and permanently delete the entire recycle bin, in the Operations group, click Empty.

  3. Click OK.