The Workbox commands

Abstract

Learn to use and configure the Workbox.

Before you publish a content item on your website, commands in the Workbox let you preview, open, or compare different versions of an item, as well as approve or reject the content.

Some commands are shown for all items, while others appear depending on the workflow state. Some commands can be executed on multiple items at the same time.

In the Workbox toolbar, in the Workflows section, you can configure the Workbox to only show specific workflows.

The following table describes the commands that appear in the workbox for each item. The commands that appear depend on the workflow state:

Command

Description

Preview

Preview the item in a new window.

Open

Open the item in a new window in the Content Editor.

Diff

Open the Compare Versions dialog box to display the difference between two versions of the same item.

Submit

Move the item to the next workflow state.

When you submit the item, you are prompted to enter a comment. This text will be sent as a notification to the next reviewer.

Deploy

Publish the item.

Approve with Test

Approve the item, move it to the next state in the workflow and launch an A/B test.

Approve

Approve the item without performing an A/B test and move it to the next state in the workflow.

Reject

Move the item to an earlier state in the workflow.

More

Show the editing history and details of the last workflow change made to the item.

The following table describes the commands in the Batch Operations toolbar. Each command applies either to all items in the current workflow state, or selected items in the current workflow state:

Command

Description

Submit (all) or (selected)

Move items to the next workflow state.

Reject (all) or (selected)

Reject items and move them back to an earlier stage in the workflow.

Deploy (all) or (selected)

Publish items.

Approve with Test (all) or (selected)

Approve items and run an A/B test.

Approve (all) or (selected)

Approve items without running an A/B test, and move them to the next state in the workflow.